The List: Reading My Way Around The World In 365 Days

 

Open book.

As great as it would be to read a book from every single country, I don’t think I would be able to do it in one year. I mean, I would be setting up myself for failure from the start.

If you don’t know what I am talking about, refer back to this post.

So instead, I picked a country for every single letter of the alphabet and chose a writer.

I did use Anna Morgan’s list as a base and most books are from her list.

How did I pick the books? I generally pick a book from the title or images on the front cover. Probably not the best way to pick a book. Are they always good? Of course not! But it works for me.

And this is how I picked some of the books in my list. I googled them, read the plot and looked at the cover.

I still have some countries missing. This to me is more of a “draft list” then a definite list. I might decide to change the country as I go along, or the writer, or the book, or jump from B to V and back to C.

I am giving myself no rules about this challenge.

A.

THE LIST

Afghanistan: Khaled Hosseini – The Kite Runner

Albania: Ismail Kadare – Doruntine

Australia: Markus Zusak – The Book Thief

Bahrain: Sarah A. Al Shafei – Yummah

Chile: Isabel Allende – The Japanese Lover

D

E

France: Abnousse Shalmani – Khomeini, Sade and me

Gambia: Dembo Fanta Bojang & Sukai Mbye Bojang – Folk Tales and Fables from The Gambia

Hungary: Ferenc Karinthy – Metropole

Israel: Aharon Appelfeld – Blooms of Darkness     India: Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni – Mistress of Spices

Japan: Yoko Ogawa – Hotel Iris

K

Lebanon: Hanan al-Shaykh – One Thousand and One Nights

Mexico: Laura Esquivel – Like Water for Chocolate

Norway: Gerd Brantenberg – Egalia’s Daughters: A Satire of the Sexes

O

Pakistan: Kamila Shamsie – Salt and Saffron

Q

Russia: Oleg Zaionchkovski – Happiness is possible

South Africa: Kgebetti Moele – The book of the dead

South Africa: Wilbur Smith

Trinidad and Tobago: Monique Roffey – The white woman on the Green Bicycle

United Arab Emirates: Ameera Al Hakawati – Desperate in Dubai

V

Y

Zambia: Gaile Parkin – Baking cakes in Kingali

Leave a Reply

