A Few Simple Rules

Resolution(n): a firm decision to do or not do something;

Rule (n): one of a set of explicit or understood regulations

Goal (n): an aim or desired result

At the beginning of every year, we make a list. A list of things to do, places to go, things to learn.

I have made that list. I have it with me every day. I remind myself everyday of all the things I want to do this year.

But I also came up with a set of rules. Not resolutions. The word resolution sounds more like …a wish. Something I would like to be able to do.

It may sound harsh but it’s actually not that bad because they are Feel Good Rules.

These are my rules and I’ll share them in the hopes that it may help someone else out there.

  • Be selfish.

Yes! Be selfish! Think about yourself first. And yes, it is ok to do it. You above all and everything else.

  • Learn to say no.

Another thing that is ok for you to do. I’m not saying you have to be rude to people. But learn to listen to yourself. I used to have this feeling that I always had to say yes to everything and everyone at all times. You don’t!

  • Take risks.

If it scares you, then it’s a good thing 🙂

Seriously thou. If an opportunity comes along, and makes you feel nervous (in a good way) and you feel like you have a million butterflies in your stomach… go for it! It could be a new job, a new relationship, trying bungee jumping for the first time or even a long weekend solo trip. Do it!

  • Be creative.

Allow creativity to flow. Draw even if you think you suck at it. Probably you do. But who cares?! You don’t have to display your work in an art gallery.

Paint; draw; cut bits and pieces from old magazines and glue them together; give it a go at jewelry making (get a subscription box!); try cooking something amazing (or not!) with whatever you find in the fridge, without a recipe; refurbish an old piece of furniture.

  • Learn something new everyday.

The other day I watched a documentary about the most dangerous animals found in Australia. I learned about how the Irukangji jellyfish are the smallest and most venomous jellyfish in the world.

Now, do I need to know this? I mean, it’s useful to know I’m planning to go on holiday to Australia or if I’m going to the local pub’s quiz night but, apart from that… when Am I supposed to use this  piece of information? Random I know.

  • Smile more.

I mean…why wouldn’t you?! And if you are thinking… “Oh I had a bad day…”, guess what? Some people are in a much worst situation than you. And… it doesn’t matter how bad your day was, if you think about it, I am sure you can find something positive. Have a look at this post.

A.

maxresdefault-2

Leave a Reply

